Posted on 04/28/2017

Mayor Garcetti will co-chair the council with UCLA Chancellor Gene Block to drive forward the Sustainable City pLAn, Sustainable LA Grand Challenge, and other regional efforts.

LOS ANGELES — Mayor Eric Garcetti is bringing together some of Los Angeles’ most prominent business, academic, and community leaders to tackle the region’s sustainability challenges, and help advance the ambitious goals laid out in the Mayor’s Sustainable City pLAn.

The L.A. Sustainability Leadership Council — formed in partnership with UCLA and Chancellor Gene Block — will help guide Mayor Garcetti’s efforts to build a sustainable future for Los Angeles, and identify new opportunities for collaboration between the public, private, and academic sectors to advance the pLAn. The group will also work toward progress on UCLA’s Sustainable Grand Challenge (SLA GC), and other important regional sustainability efforts. Mayor Garcetti will co-chair the Leadership Council with UCLA Chancellor Gene Block.

“Building a sustainable Los Angeles is one of the great challenges of our time — and we need our greatest minds working together to meet it,” said Mayor Garcetti. “The L.A. Sustainability Leadership Council will support the collaboration and innovation we need to help us fight climate change, protect our environment, and build an economy for the next generation.”

The Leadership Council will provide critical vision, leadership, guidance, and support for the pLAn, the SLA GC, and other important sustainability initiatives.  Please see below for members of the Leadership Council.

Los Angeles’ first-ever Sustainable City pLAn is a roadmap to achieve short-term and long-term outcomes by 2025 and 2035 to strengthen and transform Los Angeles. The pLAn laid out ambitious targets in 14 categories related to the environment, economy, and equity — including water conservation, clean energy, waste, green jobs, transportation, climate change, and livability. 

Of the pLAn’s 2017 goals, over 90 percent are on track to be completed this year. Los Angeles has reduced greenhouse gas emissions by 20%, nearly halfway to the pLAn goal of 45% reductions by 2025 — and more progress on the pLAn can be found in the recently released 2nd annual progress report.  Mayor Garcetti released the pLAn with an April 2015 Executive Directive that took several actions including committing to updating the goals and targets every 4 years, as well as directing general managers to appoint departmental chief sustainability officers.

The Sustainable LA Grand Challenge was launched by Chancellor Block in 2013. Sustainable LA has set Los Angeles County goals of 100% renewable energy, 100% local water supply, and enhanced ecosystem and human health by 2050.  Twenty-eight researchers developed the work plan in 2015 with over 100 research recommendations and 27 research projects now underway. The research will help inform the development of a road map to reach these ambitious goals by 2050. Other sustainability research is underway in a wide variety of disciplines at USC, CalTech, the CSUs and other colleges and universities in the county to take on the complex issues of sustainability and climate change.

“The creation of a high powered Leadership Council, chaired by Mayor Garcetti and Chancellor Block, will result in a more focused, coordinated effort to make Los Angeles the world’s first sustainable megacity,” said Mark Gold, Associate Vice Chancellor at UCLA for the Grand Challenge.

“Everyone can get involved by saving energy, conserving water, and making a commitment to adopt the pLAn into action,” said Matt Petersen, Chief Sustainability Officer for the City of Los Angeles. “We need policy makers, business leaders and other change makers to work together to make L.A. the most sustainable city in America.”

The full list of L.A. Sustainability Leadership Council members includes:

  • Yael Aflalo, CEO and Founder, Reformation

  • Lori Bettison-Varga, Executive Director, LA County Museum of Natural History 

  • Gene Block, Chancellor, UCLA

  • Michael Burke, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, AECOM

  • Brad Cox, Senior Managing Director, Trammell Crow Company

  • Kevin de León, President pro Tempore of the California State Senate

  • Michael Dubin, CEO, Dollar Shave Club 

  • Eric Garcetti, Mayor, City of Los Angeles

  • Mark Gold, Associate Vice Chancellor for Environment and Sustainability

  • Antonia Hernandez, President and CEO, California Community Foundation

  • Jody Heymann, UCLA Dean of Public Health 

  • Ann Karagozian, UCLA Vice Chancellor for Research 

  • Richard Katz, Environmental and Policy consultant, Former CA State Assemblyman

  • Jenna King, Jenna & Michael King Foundation

  • Sheila Kuehl, Supervisor of Los Angeles County, District 3

  • Lyn Lear, Environmental leader, Co-Founder of Environmental Media Association

  • Mary Leslie, President, Los Angeles Business Council

  • Debra Man, COO, Metropolitan Water District

  • Felicia Marcus, Chair of the State Water Resources Control Board 

  • Kelly Meyer, Environmental leader

  • Jennifer Mnookin, UCLA Dean of Law 

  • Jayathi Murthy, UCLA Dean of Engineering

  • Marc Nathanson, Chairman, Falcon Waterfree Technologies

  • Mary Nichols, Chair, California Air Resources Board

  • Ron Nichols, President, Southern California Edison

  • Manuel Pastor, Director, Program for Environmental and Regional Equity - USC

  • Jonas Peters, Bren Professor of Chemistry and Director, Resnick Sustainability Institute – Caltech

  • Matt Petersen, Chief Sustainability Officer

  • Tom Penn, President, Los Angeles Football Club

  • Tony Pritzker, Managing Partner and co-founder of The Pritzker Group

  • Bonnie Reiss, Global Director, USC Schwarzenegger Institute

  • Anthony Rendon, CA State Assembly Speaker, 63 District

  • Robert Ross, President and CEO, California Endowment

  • Laura Shell, Co-Chair, California Advisory Board, Trust for Public Land

  • Hilda Solis, Supervisor for the First District of Los Angeles County

  • Victoria Sork, UCLA Dean of Life Sciences

  • Terry Tamminen, CEO – Leonardo DiCaprio Foundation, President/Founder Seventh Generation Advisors

  • Patricia Turner, UCLA Senior Dean of the College of Letters and Science

  • Phillip Washington, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

  • Steve Westly, Managing Partner, The Westly Group

  • David Wright, General Manager, LADWP